Updates to our Terms, Privacy Policy, Permissions

Effective May 11, 2026, we updated our Terms of Use and Privacy Policy to reflect a Google Workspace permissions change to a narrower Google Docs™ access model, while preserving user-initiated Slides™ generation, formatting, and sync features.

John

May 11, 2026

Table of contents

Google Workspace permissionsPrivacy Policy UpdatesWhat This Means for YouRead the Updated Documents

We have updated Google Workspace permissions requested for Slides Generator, Terms of Use and Privacy Policy to reflect current Slides Generator permissions and behavior.

Google Workspace permissions

Slides Generator now requests the permission to:

Create new Drive files, or modify existing files, that you open with an app or that the user shares with an app while using the Google Picker API or the app's file picker.

This is a non-sensitive scope that requires a user to grant access to a particular Google Docs document. We require this as we now fetch data for a Google Doc in a different way that optimizes performance. Previously, a document with many images and many pages would take a long to load. Our previews now load much quicker and performance is snappier, which is a win for all our users.

In line with the principle of least privilege, we have only requested the least sensitive and lowest permission level required. That means we only have access to the Google Docs that you explicitly grant us access to, not your other Google Docs.

Privacy Policy Updates

We also updated the Privacy Policy so it more accurately reflects the service data required to operate Slides Generator today.

That includes clearer language around account and product data such as:

  • Google account identifiers and email addresses
  • workspace membership and subscription state
  • trial and usage data
  • themes, reusable component metadata, and presentation log metadata
  • application settings and other service data needed to provide product features

We also updated the infrastructure wording so it reflects our current service providers and storage model more accurately.

What This Means for You

There is no special action required from existing users beyond reviewing the updated documents if you want to understand the changes in detail.

If you install, reinstall, or re-authorize the Google Workspace add-on, you may notice updated Google authorization wording. That wording reflects the narrower Docs™ access model, secure API authentication, Docs™ write-back features, and Docs™-to-Slides™ sync behavior.

Read the Updated Documents

If you have questions about these changes, please contact us.